Hiking in the Zillertal Alps High Alps Nature Park

The Berliner Höhenweg leads through the heart of the Zillertal Alps Nature Park, from the Gamshütte in Finkenberg to the Karl-von-Edelhütte in Mayrhofen – or vice versa. Hikers are treated to the most incredible views of glacial mountains and the scenic beauty of the high alpine countryside.

 

The length and starting point of your tour is entirely up to you. If you want to do the full trail, you can start either at the Gamshütte or the Karl-von-Edelhütte. However, every hut along the trail is linked by a route up from or down to the valley. The start/end points in the valley are all well-connected by public transport allowing you to tailor your hike to suit you. 

 

Hikers on the Berliner Höhenweg are walking in the footsteps of alpine history. In the mid nineteenth century, the Ziller Valley was one of the original destinations for mountaineers, with Ginzling known as the mountaineering village of the time. In 1879, the Berliner Hütte was the first alpine hut to be built in the Ziller Valley. Shortly afterwards, in 1889, a path was made from the Berliner Hütte over the Schönbichler Horn to the newly built Furtschaglhaus. This marked the start of today’s network of alpine paths and huts. 

Olpererhütte - Furtschaglhaus

Descend steeply from the Olpererhütte, past the Zamsgatterl restaurant. Follow the forest road for about 3km to the end of the Schlegeis reservoir. Take a left, and start the ascent along a stepped path which snakes back and forth up the steep mountain side between the Wasserle gorge and the Furtschagl stream. Finally, follow the path, at a moderate incline, through the meadows to the Furtschaglhaus. 

 

  • 500 altitude metres of ascent
  • 600 altitude metres of descent 
  • Time: approx. 4 hours

Furtschaglhaus - Berliner Hütte

The route from the Furtschaglhaus to the Berliner Hütte is a highlight of the Berliner Höhenweg. A good path leads at a moderate incline towards the Schönbichler Horn as the landscape becomes increasingly barren. Crossing steep scree fields, the path climbs sharply to the foot of the peak of the Schönbichler Horn. From here, bearing right, a steep channel with a fixed cable climbing aid leads along the south ridge to the summit at 3,134m. Descend down the steep and exposed east face to the north-eastern ridge. From here the path continues downwards on well-secured stone slabs, like a giant staircase, to 2,700m, and you can catch your first glimpse of the Berliner Hütte. From here, simply follow the path!

 

  • 900 altitude metres of ascent
  • 1060 altitude metres of descent
  • Time: approx. 6.5 hours

Bergwandern im Hochgebirgs-Naturpark Zillertaler Alpen

Der Berliner Höhenweg führt durch das Herz des Hochgebirgs-Naturpark Zilertaler Alpen von der Gamshütte in Finkenberg bis zur Karl-von-Edelhütte in Mayrhofen oder in umgekehrter Richtung. Gewaltige Ausblicke in die vergletscherte Hochgebirgswelt erwarten die Bergwanderer ebenso wie wunderbare Einblicke in die Naturschönheiten dieser hochalpinen Landschaft.

 

Die Länge der Tour kann jeder selbst bestimmen, ebenso wie den Ausgangspunkt. Starten kannst du sowohl bei der Gamshütte als auch bei der Karl-von-Edelhütte. Von allen Hütten gibt es Zu- und Abstiege ins Tal. Die Talorte sind mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln gut zu erreichen und untereinander auch verbunden.

 

Auf dem Berliner Höhenweg bewegen sich Bergwanderer auf den Spuren der Alpingeschichte. Das Zillertal war Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts eine Keimzelle des Bergsteigens und Ginzling das Bergsteigerdorf der damaligen Zeit. Im Jahre 1879 wurde die Berliner Hütte, die erste Schutzhütte im Zillertal, erbaut. Bereits im Jahr 1889 wurde der Übergang von der Berliner Hütte über das Schönbichler Horn zum damals neu erbauten Furtschaglhaus als Höhenweg ausgebaut. Die Grundlage für das heutige alpine Wegenetz war damit geschaffen.

Olpererhütte - Furtschaglhaus

Von der Olpererhütte geht es steil hinab, dann vorbei bei der Jausenstation Zamsgatterl. Von dort etwa 3 km weiter auf der Forststraße bis zum Ende des Schlegeis Speichers. Dann links in vielen Kehren den steilen Hang auf treppenartigem Weg zwischen Wasserleklamm und Furtschaglbach hinauf, zuletzt über mäßig ansteigende Wiesen zum Furtschaglhaus.

 

  • 500 Höhenmeter im Aufstieg
  • 600 Höhenmeter im Abstieg
  • Gehzeit: ca. 4 Stunden

Furtschaglhaus - Berliner Hütte

Als Königsetappe kann die Route vom Furtschaglhaus zur Berliner Hütte genannt werden. Auf gutem Weg gehts es mäßig ansteigend Richtung Schönbichler Horn. Die Landschaft wird immer karger. Durch Schuttflanken steil bergauf bis an den Gipfelaufbau des Schönbichler Horns. Hier leitet rechtshaltend eine steile, drahseilgesichterte Rinne auf den Südgrad bis zum Gipfel auf 3.134 Meter. Durch die steile Ostflanke geht es ausgesetzt hinab zum schwach ausgeprägten Nordostgrat. Auf einer gut geschichteten Steinplatten geht es wie auf einer riesigen Freitreppe hinab auf 2.700 Meter mit Blick auf die Berliner Hütte. Dem Weg einfach folgen!

 

  • 900 Höhenmeter im Aufstieg
  • 1060 Höhenmeter im Abstieg
  • Gehzeit: ca. 6,5 Stunden